Advisory and Governance Boards

ICER is fortunate to have the support of a Governance Board and an Advisory Board consisting of national experts in health care policy. The Governance Board has fiduciary responsibility for the overall operations of ICER, while both the Governance Board and Advisory Board provide important strategic counsel to ICER’s leadership team.

ICER Governance Board

Ellen Andrews, PhD, Executive Director, Connecticut Health Policy Project
Carmella Bocchino, RN, MBA, President and CEO, CRB Strategies, LLC
Wendy Everett, ScD, Special Advisor, NEHI
Ron Pollack, JD, Chair Emeritus, Families USA
Leigh Purvis, MPA, Director of Health Care Costs and Access, AARP’s Public Policy Institute
Murray Ross, PhD (Chair), Vice President and Director, Kaiser Institute for Health Policy Kaiser Permanente
Lewis Sandy, MD, Executive Vice President, Clinical Advancement, UnitedHealth Group
Mark Skinner, JD, President and CEO, Institute for Policy Advancement
Anya Rader Wallack, PhD, Associate Director, Center for Evidence Synthesis in Health at Brown University

ICER Advisory Board

Harold Carter, PharmD, Senior Director, Clinical Solutions, Express Scripts
Robert W. Dubois, MD, PhD, Chief Science Officer, National Pharmaceutical Council
Patrick Gleason, PharmD, Assistant Vice President, Health Outcomes, Prime Therapeutics
Ross Hoffman, MD, Chief Medical Officer, Envolve Pharmacy Solutions
Kjel A. Johnson, PharmD, Vice President, Specialty Strategy and Client Solutions, CVS Health
Myoung Kim, PhD, MA, MIBS, MBA, Vice President and Head, US Heath Economics and Outcomes Research and Medical Access, Novartis
Andreas Kuznik, Senior Director, Health Economics and Outcomes Research, Regeneron Pharmaceuticals
Chris Leibman, PharmD, Senior Vice President, Value and Access, Biogen
Bryan Loy, MD, Market Medical Officer, Humana
Mark McClellan, MD, PhD, Founding Director, Duke-Margolis Center for Health Policy at Duke University
Ron Preblick, PharmD, MPH, Sr. Director, Global Business Partner, Rare Blood Disorders, Sanofi
Matthew Rousculp, PhD, MPH,  Head, US Value, Evidence and Outcomes, GlaxoSmithKline
Michael Sherman, MD, MBA, MS, Senior Vice President and Chief Medical Officer, Harvard Pilgrim Health Care
David R. Strutton, PhD, MPH, Vice President, Global Pharmaceuticals and Policy Evidence Research, Center for Observational and Real-World Evidence (CORE), Merck & Co., Inc.
Sean D. Sullivan, PhD, MSc, Professor and Dean, University of Washington School of Pharmacy
Marcus Thygeson, MD, Chief Health Officer, Bind Benefits
Sepideh Varon, PhD, MPH, Vice President, Health Economics and Outcomes Research, AbbVie
John Watkins, PharmD, MPH, BCPS, Pharmacy Manager, Formulary Development, Premera Blue Cross
David Weinstock, MD, Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics, Harvard Medical School and Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Jeff White, PharmD, MS, Staff Vice President, Clinical Pharmacy Services, IngenioRx
Gergana Zlateva, PhD, MPA, Inflammation & Immunology Business Unit Lead, Patient & Health Impact, Pfizer

Program Advisory Boards

CTAF | Midwest CEPAC | New England CEPAC

Each of ICER’s core programs also has a non-governing advisory board. Composed of leading representatives from provider groups, public and private payers, patient groups, and purchasers, the program advisory boards help ensure that all reviews are actionable for a variety of stakeholders.

California Technology Assessment Forum

Wade Aubry, MD, Associate Clinical Professor of Medicine, Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies, UCSF
Christine Castano, MD, Medical Director, Utilization Management, HealthCare Partners
Deborah Collyar, Patient Advocates in Research (PAIR)
Meg Durbin, MD, Chief Medical Officer, Canopy Health
Jo Carol Hiatt, MD, MBA, Chair, National Product Council and Assistant Medical Director, SCPMG Business Administration, Kaiser Permanente
Jeffrey Klingman, MD, Chief of Neurology, The Permanente Medical Group
Julia Logan, MD, MPH,
Chief Medical Officer and Head of Clinical Policy, CalPERS
George Louie, MD, Associate Vice President and Chief Medical Officer for Self-Funded Health Plans, UC Health
Arthur Lurvey, MD, Medicare Contractor Medical Director, Noridian
Robert Plass, MD, MMM, Medical Director, Blue Shield of California
Jeff Rideout, MD, President & CEO, Integrated Healthcare Association (IHA)
Wells Shoemaker, MD, Consulting Medical Director
Kristof Stremikis, MPP, MPH, Director, Market Analysis and Insight, California HealthCare Foundation
Jeff Tice, MD, Associate Professor, UCSF School of Medicine, CTAF Senior Medical Advisor
Lauren Vela, MBA, Senior Director of Member Value, Pacific Business Group on Health
John Yao, MD, MBA, MPH, Staff Vice President of Medical Policy, Anthem

Midwest Comparative Effectiveness Public Advisory Council

Richard Bruzek, PharmD, Vice President, Pharmacy Services, HealthPartners
Harold Carter, PharmD, Director, Clinical Solutions, Express Scripts Holding Company
Andrew Fondow, Health & Benefits Vice President, Aon
David Heaton, Product Manager, St. Louis Area Business Health Coalition
Ron Laudel, Benefits Plan Administrator, Carpenters’ Benefit Plans Health & Retirement Services
Scott Liebman, Senior Vice President, Aon
Jay Moore, MD, Senior Clinical Director, Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield
Jason Parrott, Manager, Health Care Policy & Strategy, The Boeing Company
Karen Poston, Manager, Health and Welfare, Graybar Electric
Louise Probst, Executive Director, St. Louis Area Business Health Coalition
Gloria Sachdev, PharmD, President & CEO, Employers’ Forum of Indiana
Scott Spradlin, Chief Medical Officer, Local and Regional Business Unit, Aetna 
Keith Starke, Chief Quality Officer, Mercy Health
Kevin Supple, Chief Financial Officer, Francis Howell School District

New England Comparative Effectiveness Public Advisory Council

Ellen Andrews, PhD, Executive Director, CT Health Policy Project
Robert H. Aseltine, Jr., PhD, Professor and Chair, Division of Behavioral Sciences and Community Health and Director, Center for Population Health, UCONN Health
Peggy Chou, MD, Sr Medical Director, ACO Population Management, Atrius Health
Katherine Dallow, MD, MPH, Vice President and Medical Director, Clinical Programs and Strategy, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts
Kenneth Duckworth, MD, Medical Director, Behavioral Health, Blue Cross Blue Shield Massachusetts
Nancy Hogue, PharmD, Executive Director of Pharmacy Services, Department of Vermont Health Access
Thomas Isaac, MD, MBA, MPH, Medical Director, Practice Pattern Variation Department of Quality and Safety, Atrius Health
Matthew Katz, MS, Principal for MCK Health Strategies, LLC and MCK Consulting, LLC
Christine Lu, MSc, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Population Medicine, Harvard Medical School and Harvard Pilgrim Health Care Institute
Debra Madden, Cancer Research Advocate, Patient Representative: FDA and ECOG-ACRIN Cancer Research Group
Bill McQuade, D.Sc., MPH, Senior Health Policy Analyst, Rhode Island Executive Office of Health and Human Services, Office of Medicaid
Amy Schwartz, MPH, Director, Health Care Cost Containment, University of New Hampshire
Thomas Simpatico, MD, Professor of Psychiatry and Director, Division of Public Psychiatry,
The Robert Larner, M.D. College of Medicine at the University of Vermont, Chairman and CEO, MHISSION Translational Systems, LLC
Patricia Toro, MD, MPH, Massachusetts Associate Medical Director, Harvard Pilgrim HealthCare
Robert W. Zavoski, MD, MPH, Chief Medical Officer, First Choice Health Centers