CTAF Advisory Board

Composed of leading representatives from provider groups, public and private payers, patient groups, and purchasers, the CTAF Advisory Board guides topic selection for all CTAF meetings and helps frame the scope of every evidence review to ensure that CTAF products are actionable for all stakeholders. The non-governing CTAF Advisory Board also identifies opportunities for CTAF to help stakeholders apply evidence in policy and practice through the development of tools to support new benefit designs, coverage and reimbursement policies, guidelines, quality improvement initiatives, and patient materials.

Wade Aubry, MD

Associate Clinical Professor of Medicine, Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies



Christine Castano, MD

Medical Director, Utilization Management

HealthCare Partners


Deborah Collyar

Patient Advocates in Research (PAIR)


Meg Durbin, MD

Chief Medical Officer

Canopy Health


Learn More

Jo Carol Hiatt, MD, MBA

Chair, National Product Council and Assistant Medical Director, SCPMG Business Administration

Kaiser Permanente


Julia Logan, MD, MPH

Chief Medical Officer and Head of Clinical Policy


George Louie, MD

Associate Vice President and Chief Medical Officer for Self-Funded Health Plans

UC Health


Arthur Lurvey, MD

Medicare Contractor Medical Director



Robert Plass, MD, MMM

Medical Director

Blue Shield of California


Jeff Rideout, MD

President & CEO

Integrated Healthcare Association (IHA)


Wells Shoemaker, MD

Consulting Medical Director


Kristof Stremikis, MPP, MPH

Director, Market Analysis and Insight

California HealthCare Foundation


Jeff Tice, MD

Associate Professor

UCSF School of Medicine

CTAF Senior Medical Advisor

Lauren Vela, MBA

Senior Director of Member Value

Pacific Business Group on Health


John Yao, MD, MBA, MPH

Staff Vice President of Medical Policy